Go to Main Content
  • Filter by ...
More News

Talents Alumni at European Film Awards 2022

Dec 12, 2022
Still from
Still from "Triangle of Sadness"

The winners of the European Film Awards were announced on Saturday, 10 December and we very pleased to see that four of the awarded films had a total of eight Berlinale Talents alumni who had creatively contributed. 

Ruben Östlund 's "Triangle of Sadness", edited by Jacob Schulsinger (BT 2010), scooped the awards for European Film, Director, Screenwriter and Actor for Zlatko Buric. We cannot wait to welcome Ruben to Berlinale Talents in February!

The prize for European short went to “Granny’s Sexual Life”, produced by Nidia Santiago (BT 2018), and the Excellence Award winners in European Editing were Özcan Vardar (BT 2011) and Eytan İpeker for their work on "Burning Days".

“Piccolo Corpo” won the European Discovery Prix Fipresci. It was produced by Thomas Lambert (BT 2021), edited by Chiara Dainese (BT 2021), with cinematography by Mitja Ličen (BT 2016).

Vicky Krieps performance in "Corsage" won her the award for European Actress. The film was produced by Bernard Michaux (BT 2007), edited by Ulrike Kofler (BT 2014), and also starring Jeanne Werner (BT 2018).

Still from
Still from "Close"

There were also a great number of other alumni involved in films nominated for the awards.

Two alumni were nominated for the European Discovery - Prix Fipresci . "Pamfir" was written & directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (BT 2013) and produced by Adolf El Assal (BT 2006), and "Sonne" written & directed by Kurdwin Ayub (BT 2018).

"Knor" (Oink), produced by Marleen Slot (BT 2008) with by music Rutger Reinders (BT 2013), was nominated for European Animated Feature Film. And finally, nominated for European Short Film were "Granny's Sexual Life", produced by Nidia Santiago (BT 2018), and "Techno, Mama" written & directed by Saulius Baradinskas (BT 2020).

"Holy Spider", produced by Sol Bondy (BT 2016) and Jacob Jarek (BT 2007) and starring Sara Fazilat (BT 2017) received an incredible five nominations: European Film, European Director for Ali Abbasi, European Actress for Zar Amir Ebrahimi and European Screenwriter nominations for both Afshin Kamran Bahrami and Ali Abbasi.

"Alcarràs", written and directed by Carla Simón (BT 2015), with cinematography by Daniela Cajias (BT 2018), edited by Ana Pfaff (BT 2018), produced by María Zamora (BT 2006) and co-produced by Giovanni Pompili (BT 2014) received three nominations: European Film and European Screenwriter for both Carla and co-writer Arnau Vilaró.

"Close", written by Angelo Tijssens (BT 2021) received five nominations: European Film, European Screenwriter for both Angelo and Lukas Dhont, European Director for Lukas Dhont and finally European Actor for Eden Dambrine.

All photos courtesy of European Film Academy.