Go to Main Content
More News

Alumni Sweep Summer Festivals

Sep 2, 2018
Dominga Sotomayor with her Best Director award © Marco Abram, Locarno Festival
Dominga Sotomayor with her Best Director award © Marco Abram, Locarno Festival

Our talented alumni picked up numerous festival awards over the summer.

At the Locarno Festival (Aug 7-17, 2018), Singaporean director Yeo Siew Hua bagged the Golden Leopard with “A Land Imagined,” produced by Fran Borgia, while Chilean director Dominga Sotomayor won Best Director with “Too Late to Die Young,” edited by Catalina Marín Duarte.

In Venice (Aug 29 - Sept 8, 2018), the Special Jury Prize went to Australian period thriller “The Nightingale,” produced by Kristina Ceyton. And Syrian director Soudade Kaadan won the Lion of the Future Award for a Debut Film with her fiction debut “The Day I Lost My Shadow.”

Most recently, our alumni collected countless prizes at the Toronto International Film Festival (September 6-16, 2018) - scroll down to see all of the winners. Congratulations to everyone!



  • Special Jury Prize - “The Nightingale,” produced by Kristina Ceyton (BT 2011)
  • Lion of the Future / Best Debut - “The Day I Lost My Shadow,” directed by Soudade Kaadan (BT 2011)
  • Orizzonti Best Film - “Manta Ray,” starring Wanlop Rungkumjad (BT 2014)
  • Orizzonti Best Director - “The River,” directed by Emir Baigazin (BT 2008)
  • Orizzonti Best Short - “Kado” (A Gift), directed by Aditya Ahmad (BT 2015)
  • Orizzonti Short Film Nomination for the European Film Awards - “Gli ani,” produced by Lionel Massol (BT 2018)
  • Six Collatoral Awards for “Capri-Revolution,” edited by Natalie Cristiani (BT 2014)
  • Two Collatoral Awards for “Tel Aviv on Fire,” directed by Sameh Zoabi (BT 2004) and produced by Bernard Michaux (BT 2007)


  • The Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award: Second Runner-Up - “Assassination Nation,” cinematography by Marcell Rév (BT 2011)
  • Toronto Platform Prize Winner - “Cities of Last Things,” directed by Wi Ding Ho (BT 2006)
  • Toronto Platform Prize Honourable Mention - “The River,” directed by Emir Baigazin (BT 2008)
  • FIPRESCI Prize Winner: Discovery Programme - “Float Like a Butterfly,” cinematography by Michael Lavelle (BT 2010)
  • FIPRESCI Prize Winner: Special Presentations - “Skin,” directed by Guy Nattiv (BT 2003)
  • NETPAC Award - “The Crossing,” score by Xiaosong Gao (BT 2004)
  • Eurimages Audentia Award - “Fig Tree,” cinematography by Daniel Miller (BT 2018)
  • IWC Short Cuts Awards: Best Canadian Short Film - “Brotherhood,” directed by Meryam Joobeur (BT 2016) and produced by Habib Attia (BT 2011)
  • IWC Short Cuts Awards: Best Short Film - “The Field,” cinematography by Benoit Soler (BT 2012) and sound by Nikola Medic (BT 2017)
  • IWC Short Cuts Awards: Honourable Mention - “This Magnificent Cake!” co-directed by Marc Roels (BT 2004)