Log in

2015: A Space Discovery

08.02.2015 - Darren Aronofsky, Claudia Llosa, Florian Weghorn

No matter how many experiences you have in the film business or how many movies you have seen in your life, there is space for more. Berlinale jury president Darren Aronofsky (PI, BLACK SWAN, NOAH) and jury member and winner of a Golden Bear Claudia Llosa (MADEINUSA, LA TETA ASUSTADA, ALOFT) will take the stage to kick off the multi-dimensional discovery trip coming up this week at Berlinale Talents, as well as discuss how they have sculpted space in their own highly acclaimed films.


Darren Aronofsky

photo of Darren Aronofsky
New York-born writer, director and producer. With his feature debut PI he won the Sundance Film Festival, and he went on to direct films such as REQUIEM FOR A DREAM, THE FOUNTAIN, THE WRESTLER, which won the Golden Lion in Venice, BLACK SWAN, for which he was Oscar-nominated as best director, and NOAH. Darren is the president of this year's Berlinale Jury.

Claudia Llosa

photo of Claudia Llosa
Peruvian filmmaker, who began her career in advertising before starting her own production company. Her first feature MADEINUSA was released in 2006. Three years later, the WCF-funded film THE MILK OF SORROW was a selection in the Berlinale Competition and went on to win the Golden Bear and the FIPRESCI Award. The film was also nominated for an Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. In 2012, her short film LOXORO was a selection in the Berlinale Shorts programme and won the Teddy Award. Her English-language film debut ALOFT screened in Competition in 2014 and as a Sundance Spotlight 2015. Claudia is a member of this year's Berlinale International Jury.

Florian Weghorn

photo of Florian Weghorn
Florian Weghorn is the Programme Manager of Berlinale Talents. Together with Christine Tröstrum, he heads the initiative and advises its seven international offshoots and its alumni network. He holds an MA in Theatre, Film and Television Studies from the University of Cologne. He joined Berlinale Generation in 2002, serving as co-director and curator from 2008 to 2014, and is a member of the selection committee for the Berlinale Competition. He has written and edited several publications on film and youth culture.