Hurt Feelings: Writing Emotions for the Screen

11.02.2014 - Aida Begić, Denis Côté, Matthijs Wouter Knol

    How do filmmakers conceive and write the emotive scenes in their film without dialogue? How can one successfully plan and choreograph tone and feeling in a script? Denis Côté, who won the Alfred Bauer Prize at the Berlinale last year for his film Vic and Flo Saw a Bear, and Aida Begić who won awards in Cannes and Sarajevo for Children of Sarajevo, will share their experiences writing scripts and creating scenes that engage our emotions and reveal important character traits by subtly showing instead of explicitly telling.


    Aida Begić

    photo of Aida Begić
    Sarajevo-born filmmaker. Her short films FIRST DEATH EXPERIENCE and NORTH WENT MAD won several awards and premiered at Cannes, as did her feature debut SNOW, which won an award there in 2008 and was nominated for a European Film Award. Her second feature CHILDREN OF SARAJEVO premiered at Cannes in Un Certain Regard in 2012, where it won a Special Distinction of the Jury. Both films were Bosnia-Herzegovina's submissions for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film

    Denis Côté

    photo of Denis Côté
    Canadian writer, producer and director of many award-winning films like BESTIAIRE, CURLING, which won the Best Director Award at Locarno in 2010, and VIC + FLO SAW A BEAR, which won the Alfred Bauer Award at the 2013 Berlinale. His latest film BORIS WITHOUT BÉATRICE premieres in this year's Berlinale Competition.

    Matthijs Wouter Knol

    photo of Matthijs Wouter Knol
    Matthijs is director of the European Film Market since 2014. As Head of Development at Pieter van Huystee Film in Amsterdam in 2001, Matthijs focused on developing, financing and internationally co-producing documentary film projects. With ARTE he also co-produced the complete edition of Johan van der Keuken’s digitally re-mastered works, which was awarded the Prix “Cahiers du Cinéma” in 2006. In 2007, Matthijs started working for the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA), spreading his activity between its co-production and sales markets, as well as the IDFAcademy training programme where he initiated the IDFAcademy Summer School. From 2008 to 2014 he was programme manager of Berlinale Talents, and co-founder of the Berlinale Residency.